The Pennsylvania workers’ compensation system covers most employees’ financial losses after work-related accidents and injuries. In Pennsylvania, a worker does not have prove fault to qualify for this type of compensation.
If you get into an auto accident, workers’ compensation may provide benefits for your medical bills and partial lost wages. However, you must have been performing job-related tasks at the time of the collision.
Workers’ compensation coverage limits
Most employers in Pennsylvania must purchase workers’ compensation insurance, according to the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act. Employers without this insurance may face penalties. This insurance will cover employees for the duration of employment, from the very first day on the job.
After you get into a car accident, ask yourself if you were driving within the scope of your employment. If you were commuting to work, this will not count. Instead, you must have been driving as a delivery person, providing a service to a customer, going to a company meeting or otherwise doing something related to your job. In these situations, you could qualify for workers’ compensation.
Filing for workers’ comp after a car accident
First, notify your employer of your car accident. Do so as soon as possible, but at least within 21 days of the crash. Then, seek medical help for your injuries. Your employer may require you to go to a specific doctor in the first 90 days, but after that you can see the doctor you wish. Next, you or your employer should file a First Report of Injury. This will initiate the claims process.
You may have grounds for a personal injury lawsuit instead of or in addition to workers’ compensation if a negligent driver caused the accident. A third party lawsuit could result in better recovery than workers’ compensation alone.